Skip to content

A snapshot into my world!

Always looking for the next adventure


Everyone is the age of their heart.

-Guatemalan Proverb

Steve Skalsky just recently celebrated his 90th birthday this past weekend. That being an accomplishment in itself, the more important thing is that Mr. Skalsky is still working four days a week in his barbershop, Skalsky’s Barber Shop, located in Stevensville, Montana.

For my photojournalism class we have to put together a soundslide project as our final. For this project the main objective is to tell a story. Personally, I wanted a unique story. I wanted to share someone’s story. I wanted something heartwarming or inspiring. I wanted true journalism.

I first met Steve Skalsky when doing my 25 people assignment earlier this semester. My first impression of him was that he was such a nice and sweet old man. After working with him for a day I have learned so much more than that. He is a sweet ass old man. He is so awesome and has such a great sense of humor. He was so welcoming towards me, and is so great with his customers. I can only hope that I am as great, wise, and witty of an elderly as Mr. Skalsky is.

I wanted to share a preview…below are the a few of my photos that I have for the project so far. Stay tuned for more and then final presentation!

