Skip to content

A snapshot into my world!

Always looking for the next adventure

While browsing the Internet on my lunch break today I ran across this video regarding the upcoming Houston Marathon. After watching the video it got me thinking about my personal marathon journey.

I stopped running Division I cross-country and track because I was having health complications (somewhat serious ones). I felt that every step I took forward I took three steps backwards…not to mention it caused extreme stress upon myself and my team. I didn’t want my team to have to worry about me anymore…that just wasn’t fair to them and their progress as athletes and a team. That decision was one of the hardest decisions I’ve made to this day. Taking some serious time off was in the cards post break-up (as I call it).

I kept running but I wasn’t serious…I’d run when I wanted to (and most importantly, when I felt good enough). I didn’t really do any races and honestly, didn’t have any desire to. I felt defeated. But, before I knew it, I began to fall in love with other things as much as I loved running. I immersed myself in other activities and gave those things the 110% I always gave my training. You know what I realized; I was pretty good at some other things too! I wasn’t good because I had anymore natural ability than anyone else; I was good because I worked for it and because I wasn’t afraid to try.

You have to find something. Just set a goal and work to achieve it and just keep looking forward and that’s how we get through it.

The reason I love running so much is because of that exact quote above. I love the challenge. I love the pushing myself beyond my comfort zone. I love seeing what my body (and more importantly, my mind) can do.

Challenges are what make life fun. No matter what you’re going through in life if you simply set a goal and put in the work…you’ll get there. Overcoming those challenges is what makes life exhilarating; what makes us feel alive.

I always wanted to run a marathon – but I was stalling. Finally, I bit the bullet. When signing up for the Houston Marathon I knew the road wouldn’t be easy and that’s what excited me. Getting my doctor’s approval and having my parents not worry would be the hardest part (my doctor isn’t particularly keen of the idea and my parents are still worried I’m pretty sure). I started slow; building that oh-so-necessary base. I found a running group that I liked to do my weekend long runs with. Since signing up for the marathon I’ve run through pouring rain, 100% humidity, Houston summer heat (which is just awful so you know), and most recently, New York freezing weather (17 miles in 20 degrees with a windchill of 0…that was fun!!). I’ve run at 5:30 a.m. almost every day since May (including Saturdays – sorry Dev!!). I’ve run through the pain. I’ve run through the hilliest 13.1 miles I’ve ever ran (couldn’t walk the next two days, but that’s part of the thrill). I’ve run through the doubt of others. But, most importantly, I’ve run through the challenge. That’s the beauty of life – no matter what, you can get through it. It’s just about taking one step at a time.

Image

Post December half marathon – 3rd overall female!

With the marathon less than two weeks away I am feeling great (and not only because I’m tapering – though, that does help!). I know that no matter what happens I will cross that finish line, ideally, running my goal time. I will finish because my will to succeed greatly overpowers any pain that I will feel. I have sacrificed. I have bled. I have cried (okay that’s a bit dramatic, maybe just teared up at some points). I have smiled. Most importantly, I have taken the journey. See you at the finish line (hopefully, looking a bit more fabulous than the finish photo below)!

Image

Tags: , ,

